Reviews

“Beautiful well-equipped chalet in a stunning location.”

Mrs Tina A at Chalet Meleze Nord - February 2016  (TripAdvisor 5 stars)

We did a week’s catered ski holiday. We were made to feel very welcome by Russ and our hosts Kate and Liam could not have done any more to make our stay enjoyable. Very friendly and excellent cuisine. Would definitely recommend and return. Thank you.

“Great experience”

SKennedy186338 at Chalet Meleze Nord - March 2016  (TripAdvisor 5 stars)

My friends and I were warmly welcomed to the chalet by Russ and Lucy who offered great advice on local bars and restaurants, and helped to arrange the spa for some members of our group who wanted a mid-week break from the slopes.

Our cheery hosts Kate and Liam kept us energised with filling, hearty meals and delicious home baked afternoon snacks. They were saviours each morning with freshly baked croissants and coffee to ward off the beers from the night before 🙂

The chalet was kept very clean throughout our stay and was a cosy retreat each evening with an open fireplace and spacious, homely living area. We’re looking forward to rebooking for 2017!

“Lovely chalet in a gorgeous and peacful location.”

Hammond80 at Chalet Meleze Nord - March 2016  (TripAdvisor 5 stars)

Spent a fantastic week skiing with friends including a 7month old. Our chalet hosts Liam and Kate were wonderful; the food was excellent and they could not have been more cheerful, helpful and accomodating. The chalet was warm and clean with a magnificent view of the valley (and sunsets) from the downstairs and balcony. Russ and Lucy welcomed us warmly and sorted everything for us, including rides to and from the lift even though it was only a 5 minute walk away. A memorable holiday for all the right reasons.

“Fantastic chalet, excellent host and incredible food!!! This pace is a must!!”

RU1414 at Chalet Iris - February 2016  (TripAdvisor 5 stars)

We went to Nancroix as first time skiers and happened upon Chalet Iris as part of extensive research. The price was very good and the lay out for our two families worked really well. Communication by the owner Russ was superb. He explained everything and was very patient with me for my many questions! He was always very quick to respond to my emails.

I had read reviews of Chalet Iris and noted the mentions that the chef Charlotte received…little prepared us for the incredible quality of the food Charlotte served us each day!!! She is an awesome chef and should be awarded a Michelin star all of her own!! That as well as being a lovely person! Chatting with other chalet-dwellers throughout our stay last week made us realise that not all chalet chefs produce such amazing food!

The holiday was in two halves really, one focussed around the food and the cosy warm chalet and the other, the skiing. As first-time skiers we were expecting to spend time on nursery slopes but to be honest, there weren’t any! The ski school we used (ESF) on recommendation by Russ were brilliant and the instructors were good at pushing you to reach your full potential. Some of the blue runs were a little bit challenging but lots were very nice and easy, especially La Foret. Look out for ski instructor Sophie who was lovely!

Back to the chalet – the owner Russ was superb. He took us to the ski school every day just before 0900 and picked us up in the afternoon. He was happy to drive via the supermarket for a few provisions to keep us going on the slopes. Nothing was too much trouble.

Bit of advice: the bars are a little expensive for what you get – around £11 for fast food burger and small chips and a pathetic little cup of hot chocolate for just over £3. And best bit of advice: take all your own medicines, plasters, paracetamol etc as the chemist is extortionate!! £7 for a small pack of cotton wool pads and £10 for throat lozenges!!!!

If you’re driving, the directions couldn’t be simpler and there was very little snow about. All the main roads were clear. The tolls work out about £65 each way stopping 4 or 5 times on the journey each way at the pay stations. The roads are fast (130km p/h) on the main tolls. The roads up to Nancroix have a lot of tight bends but are fine at sensible speeds. When you arrive at Chalet Iris, be sure to park in the big car park, not the little row of spaces opposite the steps where you go up to the chalet. There are no signs up but apparently you can’t park there according to a very unfriendly English lady who owns a chalet or two nearby. We made that mistake and she intruded on our delicious breakfast on our first morning! Very rude!

Russ recommended We hire ski gear from Rental Republic who were also brilliant giving a 5* service. Everyone we spoke to from the company were very helpful and had no issues in coming out to change skis or boots for a couple of us.

We would definitely choose to return to Chalet Iris again and we can’t recommend it enough. You’ll be thoroughly spoilt and you will leave wanting to take Charlotte home with you! We won’t spoil the surprise with details of what she will cook you but needless to say, we only got in at 1am this morning and I’ve already been out buying ingredients to try and re-create some of Charlottes feasts!!

“Amazing Food”

Jules C at Chalet Iris - March 2016  (TripAdvisor 5 stars)

We had a great weeks skiing at Chalet Iris. The Chalet is very quiet in a scenic area with access to Les Arcs and La Plagne. We had our own car so used that to get to slopes, though Russ offered transport it suited us better. The chalet is warm and beautifully decorated, and the staff are very friendly and welcoming. But THE FOOD! Charlotte whips up amazing food making it seem effortless .Luckily she is training others so the joy of her food will spread. We had a wonderful week and wouldn’t hesitate to recommend the chalet.

“Lovely chalet, delicious food, great service.”

AliWHanna at Chalet Iris - March 2016  (TripAdvisor 5 stars)

We stayed in chalet Iris in March and booked a last minute ski holiday. Communication with Russ was very easy before we left the UK and he kindly picked us up from our transfer bus. The chalet was cosy and clean and had everything we needed. The food was exceptional throughout our stay. We were fortunate enough to have different chalet hosts for half a week each. Charlotte’s food was absolutely fantastic and I loved talking to her about cooking. Liam and Kate were also excellent chef’s and great fun to chat to. We had previously only stayed in chalets where we were able to walk to the nearest lift so initially I was reluctant to stay somewhere that you needed to get a bus to the lift but Russ was great – he dropped us up everyday and picked us up whenever we wanted. We had a fantastic holiday – THANK YOU. I’m sure we will be visiting again. (sorry it has taken so long to write a review)

Great times,Great company and AMAZING hosts!

PenelopeK at Chalet Iris - January 2013  (TripAdvisor 0 stars)

Thanks to Jodie and Renato for an amazing week welcoming us. We were blown away by your personalised hospitality leading up to and over the week of our stay ( inc.kids) including the 3/4 course meals each evening, hot breakfasts, freshly baked cakes and cookies on our return from the slopes..will miss those;-) We certainly ate like kings and queens!! Also a big thanks Renato for this video footage, memories to last a lifetime.

“Perfect in every way”

Alison C at Chalet Iris - December 2014  (TripAdvisor 5 stars)

This chalet is in one of the nicest parts of the Alps. It’s a quieter resort which we liked but well connected to all the major ski areas. Everything about the chalet was perfect. It is kitted out to a high spec. The kitchen is welcoming and cosy. We tended to sit around the table well into the evening with the candles burning and polishing off the wine. Upstairs there is cosy lounge with wood burner. The service is exceptional. The hosts were very helpful in every regard. The food was amazing and nothing was ever too much trouble. We would not hesitate to recommend this chalet and these hosts. Ali and Patrick and little Isaac, who was 1 at the time. PS – There is a great nursery in the village which are son loved

“Relaxed and easy holiday”

Rachel H at Chalet Iris - December 2014  (TripAdvisor 5 stars)

We stayed for the first week of the season and although the snow was somewhat lacking, Russ did his utmost to ensure we saw every bit of what was there (!) transporting us nearer to the slopes each morning and collecting us each evening. . Nothing was too much trouble and Russ and Lucy were very receptive to guest ideas and suggestions. The atmosphere in the chalet was relaxed, informal and inviting, the accomodation very comfortable, Charlotte’s food amazing with any requests, diets etc fully catered for. Russ and Lucy also had excellent local knowledge and contacts regarding ski and boot hire, ski passes, childcare, transport connections, local bars and restaurants and other activities etc which all go went to make a relaxed, easy and enjoyable holiday. Thanks for a fantastic time – definitely recommend this chalet and it’s hosts!

“Great food, plush chalet, fab hosts and marvellous skiing”

Emma C at Chalet Iris - February 2015  (TripAdvisor 5 stars)

I stayed as a solo traveller in February 2015. As a keen snow boarder the choice of ski areas is huge, the snow was ace so I barely missed an hour of my lift pass. Russ, Lucy and their chef Charlotte made me feel so welcome which made a huge difference as I travelled out alone and was a bit nervous of doing so. The chalet is stylish but traditional and my bed was cozy as anything. The food, especially the curry night was delicious every night. Mostly though it was the hospitality of the hosts that made my stay so special. Definitely going again next year and will persuade my mates this time!

“Stunning house in exceptional location”

Steve M at Chalet Iris - July 2015  (TripAdvisor 5 stars)

I recently stayed at White stripe Mountain Lodge with 3 of my friends fully catered for a cycling holiday. Our stay was fantastic, food was incredible and hosts perfect. Doing various length rides from day to day, Russ and Lucy were very flexible on meal times and worked around us, which was very much appreciated and needed. Russ made some amazing meals that were well needed at the end of a tough day in the mountains.

The location is amazing and scenery breath taking, ideal for a road biking holiday as we did.

I would recommend White Mountain lodge to anybody cycling, mountain biking, skiing whatever, we all had a brilliant time and hope to return again.

“Very cosy house in great location”

AKNEL111 at Chalet Iris - July 2015  (TripAdvisor 5 stars)

We had a lovely summer holiday, many thanks. House was really cosy, clean and we felt very comfortable there. Lovely location, many great walks straight from the house, many more short drive away. Russell was very helpful. Would definitely recommend. Thank you!

“Wonderful week!”

Nicnack35 at Chalet Iris - April 2015  (TripAdvisor 5 stars)

What a wonderful chalet. Nothing was too much trouble for Russ, Lucy and Charlotte. We were 2 families each with 2 children and the chalet was perfect for this type/size of group. It had a lovely homely feel and Charlottes cooking was delicious! We were taken to the slopes everyday by Russ and he’d collect us at end of day so no walking with the little ones which was great!
We had such a brilliant week we are returning next year!

“Great stay”

Mark Bainbridge at Chalet Iris - January 2015  (TripAdvisor 5 stars)

We stayed over new year, Had good snow, chalet excellent value nice place quite close to lifts, Charlotte’s cooking is amazing Russ is a nice guy who picks you up and generally looks after you, chalet superb for money. Well worth a trip

“Absolutely fantastic Chalet with superb hosts and chef”

Smellybum39 at Chalet Iris - March 2015  (TripAdvisor 5 stars)

We stopped at Chalet Iris at Easter this year for a week. We arrived on the Saturday morning having driven overnight. Russ let us in to the chalet early and told us to help ourselves to what we wanted, which was great having driven 700 miles. The chalet was very well presented, clean and tidy, but most of all very homely.
Charlotte the chef is an outstanding chef and the food she gave us was out of this world. Nothing was too much trouble for her and there was no shortage of food supplied. Charlotte is returning for the 2015/2016 season. We will return again just to have her food!!
Russ and his wife Lucy were brilliant hosts. Again nothing was too much trouble. We were dropped at the slopes in the morning and picked up in the afternoon, either at the bottom of the slopes or at Vallandry’s Mont Blanc bar, an excellent place for apres ski.
Overall I couldn’t fault what the whole team did for us during our stay. I have stopped at quite a few catered chalets, but I have to say, this was the most friendly and we couldn’t ask for anymore. We look forward to returning next year.

“Excellent Food, friendly and professional service”

Vivienne at Chalet Iris - February 2015  (TripAdvisor 5 stars)

Stayed for a week at end of Feb. Our group consisted of 4 adults and 6 children. The chalet is modern, comfortable, warm and ideally suited to a group of 10. The food is what really sets this chalet apart. Charlotte is a fantastic chef and the 3 course meals that she provided us with each evening were worthy of any fine restaurant. She is the perfect host, polite and unobtrusive when having a private conversation and friendly and engaging if you wish to have an open discussion. Our kids loved the daily treats she provided for them!!! Russ was very accommodating providing us with daily transportation to and from the resort to suit our needs. Overall, this catered chalet provides excellent value for money and is a perfect place to wind down after a day on the slopes.

“Nice chalet, good hosts, great food”

Nick R at Chalet Iris - February 2015  (TripAdvisor 5 stars)

We stayed in Chalet Iris. It is a cosy lodge with plenty of room not far from the lift and Vanoise Express (either a short drive or a free bus which was running every 1/2 hour). Our host Russ collected us from Bourg at the start of the holiday and dropped us off again at the end. He also drove us to the lifts and picked us up from a bar on the slopes, and stopped off at shops for us in between. Convenient! Russ and Lucy were very relaxed and really helpful at organising anything we needed. And then there was the chef Charlotte – absolutely brilliant. She made fresh bread and croissants every day, not to mention some of the best food I’ve had in general, not just in a catered chalet. I would highly recommend this place.

“Great stay despite losing the pre-Christmas snow lottery”

Dave Hewitt at Chalet Iris - December 2014  (TripAdvisor 5 stars)

Having endured the long summer’s wait for a ski trip, we couldn’t help ourselves but gamble on the first week of the season. Unfortunately the usually snow sure resort of Les Arcs and La Plagne let us down, I’m pleased to say however everything else compensated magnificently.

White Stripe Mountain Lodge is cosy and modern and with the attentions of three wonderful hosts in Russ, Lucy and Charlotte we had a great week. The menu was hearty, varied and fresh in its preparation. At breakfast in addition to the usual continental breakfast there were freshly baked croissants and bread, whilst eggs and porridge were cooked as required. Three course evening meals were eagerly anticipated and Charlotte’s years of hotel cooking experience were obvious in everything we ate. A big plus was the willingness and ability to cater for individual requirements. My particular favourite dinners were chicken, cooked to perfection in a tarragon and white wine sauce and tartiflette served with salad and a platter of ham and salami. Wine was free flowing throughout dinner and as a pleasant surprise came from well selected bottles rather than a supermarket wine box.

Though the chalet is in Nancroix, a quiet village of Les Arcs, Russ was on hand to drive us to the slopes in the morning and pick us up when we rang in the afternoon. Though the snow was limited, we were equipped each day with the best information of how to make the most of our day and could not fault the level of customer service.

I hope very much to return with a larger group of friends in the near future and would recommend a stay at White Stripe Mountain Lodge whole heartedly.

“Fantastic and friendly chalet – plus properly good food”

Sam Turner at Chalet Iris - December 2014  (TripAdvisor 5 stars)

Came for the first week of the season and had a brilliant stay. Russ and Lucy were super hosts and Charlotte’s food was beautiful and hearty – a cut above the normal chalet catering – confit of duck, tartiflette are springing to my mind!
Chalet is comfortable and warm and 5mins drive to the Peisey lifts..
Can’t fault it!

“Fabulous chalet, with great hosts and a fab cook :-)”

Kim M at Chalet Iris - December 2014  (TripAdvisor 5 stars)

We have just returned from spending a fabulous Xmas at white stripe with friends. Our group of 9 included 4 children and we all had an amazing time and were catered for perfectly. Russ and Lucy, the chalet owners were lovely hosts and couldn’t do enough to make our stay a good one. They collected us from Bourg station so there was no stress getting to the chalet and Russ dropped us at the ski lifts every morning and picked us up within minutes of calling him when we were ready to go back to the chalet. On their day off they gave us clear instructions on bus timetables etc so we found it really easy, especially as the bus stop is right outside the chalet.

We enjoyed amazing 3 course meals every night prepared by Charlotte, who is the very experienced cook who my kids loved to bits :-). They went out of their way to cook food we would like and that the children would eat and they even made sure our Xmas lunch was just as we wanted with pigs in blankets and Christmas crackers! They prepared the children’s meals for 6.30 so we could get the younger ones to bed before we ate which was perfect for us. We had endless wine throughout the evening which wasn’t wasted on any of us 🙂

The chalet itself is located in a quiet area so no good if you want to walk to any kind of nightlife but as we had great food and the wine was flowing we didn’t feel the need to go out anyway. The chalet was lovely and warm all the time and sometimes a bit hot but that was our fault as we just had to make use of the lovely log burner.
Although we had a lack of snow, until the day we left when the biggest snowstorm hit the Alps, we still enjoyed a great holiday which was largely to do with our great hosts and their willingness to make us as happy as possible. Thanks to Russ and his snow tyres we made it back to Bourg through the blizzard and got our train home 🙂
Would highly recommend a stay at Whitestripe and we would love to go back again.

“Great holiday great hosts”

Chris C at Chalet Iris - March 2014  (TripAdvisor 5 stars)

Just back from a week’s skiing in Les Arcs. Stayed in this chalet – very clean and bright. Excellent hosts, Jodie and Renato, went above and beyond the usual. Jodie is an enthusiastic and talented chef and they make a great team with Renato ever helpful in taking us to drop off and pick up points in the valley.

“Wonderful boutique chalet with great hosts”

Dave W at Chalet Iris - January 2014  (TripAdvisor 5 stars)

White Stripe Mountain Lodge is a small but well appointed chalet, perfect for groups of up to 8. The accommodation is pleasantly furnished and offers a comfortable place to rest after skiing. There’s not a lot of room for luggage, so pack efficiently! The ski storage is outside, but there’s an indoor boot warmer and space downstairs for coats and helmets. The location is great – five minutes drive from Peisey lifts, and in a quiet idyllic village next to a superb restaurant.

Where it really scores is on hospitality. Jodi and Renato did a superb job of making us feel at home – they were flexible in picking us up from Bourg St Maurice, delivered and collected us from the slopes every day at a time to suit us, put cake on the table every afternoon, and served a fantastic three course meal every evening. They even catered for our one vegetarian and one fish-hater. The wine was good and flowed freely, and they did everything with a smile. Breakfast was ready when we woke up in the mornings, and there was always more than we needed.

We had a fantastic time, and would happily go back

“A friendly, cosy, welcoming and beautiful chalet”

Paula K at Chalet Iris - January 2014  (TripAdvisor 5 stars)

From the moment we arrived we could not have experienced a more welcoming arrival. The chalet is nestled within a pretty traditional village with splendid views, is cosy and warm (bathrooms cleaned daily) with everything you could need for a relaxing informal stay. Renato happily drove us to and from the ski- lift, with enough room for the whole group and equipment, at our convenience, a really personal service which took any stress out of getting to the ski lift. The food was simply exceptional, just the most plentiful and tasteful home-cooked fare, and with me being gluten free, I was not left wanting. Extremely tasty home-made cakes or tarts each day by Jodie, just scrumptious! So, with a dietary necessity and an 8 year old who was catered for appropriately, with just the sort of food an 8 year old likes on holiday, at a time that suited her too, was no trouble at all. And if you are worried about being away from the après ski, no need, the wine at the table was plentiful and very tasty – courtesy of friends with a vineyard! So, if you are looking for friendly, courteous, nothing’s too much trouble type of service in a warm, cosy and beautiful location you can’t go wrong with White Stripes.

“Amazing!!!!”

Chia S at Chalet Iris - December 2013  (TripAdvisor 5 stars)

I’ve stayed in a lot of catered chalets in the past but this was by far the best one. Every aspect was absolutely fantastic! Jodi and Renato have spent a lot of time adding little touches to the chalet which has made it comfortable and relaxing, so much so we only went out 1 night in the whole week!

The chalet itself was very roomy and was ideal for big groups as the living areas easily seats 10-12 people. Jodi and Renato have thought of everything in the chalet from endless classic board games, wood burning fire to a British free view box so you can watch Big Ben at New Years! The two person bath tub was fantastic for relaxing in after a hard days ski.

The food was excellent, every night you got a fantastic 3 course meal which got even better and better ever night. The choice of food was fantastic and no more so then at breakfast where there was endless choice of great food to get you ready for the day. The afternoon tea and cakes were delicious, so much so I always game back early to the chalet to tuck into them.

Everything about the Chalet was 5* but what made it a 6* was Jodi and Renato. They were so welcoming and accommodating, we had a big group and so during the week different people would come back at different times and Renato was more then happy to make a few trips to pick people up. On the last day we were getting picked up at 5am for the airport and Renato and Jody were up making us breakfast.

Had the best skiing holiday so far and it was down to Jodi and Renato and their wonderful chalet.

“Fantastic trip!”

katherine l at Chalet Iris - December 2013  (TripAdvisor 5 stars)

We have just returned from an amazing stay at the White Stripe Mountain lodge. Could not recommend highly enough! Brilliant service and accommodation made for a wonderful holiday. The food was delicious and just what is needed after a full days skiing; the beds very comfortable and the lounge a great space to socialise well into the night. Renato and Jodi were the perfect hosts and made our trip so special – thank you! Would definitely return!

“Perfect, all down to the hosts”

Chrismorgan26 at Chalet Iris - December 2013  (TripAdvisor 5 stars)

I chose the hostel originally because of the friendly and personal vibe I received instantly simply over emailing Renato and Jodi; this did not disappoint.

Here’s a simple list of how our holiday went…

Hosts – the best part about it all! Friendly as you get, going out of their way to ensure our stay was nothing less than perfect. For example, on their night off, since there was no takeaway service Jodi took me to fetch pizzas from Vallandry saving us a taxi ride there and back!

Food – Amazing. Being a fan of Masterchef Jodi was never short of a well presented meal busting with flavour. Going on the slopes after a hearty breakfast only to return to afternoon tea, and all the time knowing a 3 course meal was just a few hours away was certainly a great feeling to have everyday.

Drink – Cordial and juice as we wanted it and of course a selection of White and red wines in the evening simply added to those amazing meals.

Chalet – a beautiful, modern chalet with plentiful space, nicely done out bathrooms and a cozy living room with a wood burning fire. Not to mention the wii, board games and a pretty epic selection of DVDs to watch on the big screen TV!

Location – a quiet village with chilled après ski and not a big nightlife but a few nice bars and restaurants to keep you busy; a perfect family ski town. Saying that there still are busy nights at Mont Blanc and we certainly got the party going when we went out in our 80s gear 🙂

Skiing – Les Arcs is a great ski resort with a good variety of runs and has a decent altitude for the snow. With Renato taking you and picking you up from the slopes everyday what more could you ask for???

All in all a brilliant holiday that I couldn’t commend enough. As a last pointer, don’t be put off by how cheap it is, it’s just Renato and Jodi not wanting to be rip you off is all and shows what such kind people they are!

“Could not have been better!”

samtill at Chalet Iris - January 2014  (TripAdvisor 5 stars)

An excellent stay in a wonderful chalet, made all the better by the superb hosting of Jodi and Renato. The chalet is first class; beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable. Lashings of hot water, cosy log fire and with a real homely feel.

The food is first class too. Easily as good as a restaurant, the superb three course dinners will provide an excellent opportunity for you to catch up on the activities of the day with decent wine included. Breakfasts are hearty and healthy, and the afternoon cakes are great too. Tea and coffee on tap all day with nothing too much trouble (we had a veggie in the group who had a great and interesting menu specially created).

What really made our stay was Jodi and Renato. They could not have done more to make our stay more comfortable or more fun. From driving us back and forth to our lift of choice, pick-ups from the local bars, or helping organise ski hire, lift passes and lessons for the group, they were simply superb. Everything about this chalet is highly recommended.

“Absolutely fantastic stay”

Zoe9026 at Chalet Iris - January 2014  (TripAdvisor 5 stars)

A group of us stayed at this lovely chalet over the New Year period, and I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it to others.
The chalet itself is beautiful, and well equipped to a really high standard. It really was Jodi and Renato, the chalet hosts, who made the trip to special though: warm, friendly, professional and fun, nothing is too much trouble and they really care that their guests have a great stay. Jodi’s cooking is delicious, and I appreciated that she catered for my vegetarianism with some delicious meat-free alternatives to what the others were having. They are fantastic hosts who deserve to have their business go from strength to strength, and encourage you to feel that the chalet is your home-from-home for the week.
The ski area is great and Renato does drop offs to the lift in the morning and afternoon (a 5-10 min drive), and on his and Jodi’s well-deserved day off, the slopes are an easy bus-ride away. Jodi and Renato helped organise everything from lift passes to ski hire, making it a hassle-free trip.
We’d love to come and stay again, and would highly recommend this wonderful chalet and warm hosts to others.

“Sorry the visit was over so quickly”

John Reid at Chalet Iris - August 2013  (TripAdvisor 5 stars)

Thanks to Jodi and Renato for a great stay at White Stripe! The perfect place for anyone interested in great value hospitality for summer activities with via ferrata, hillwalking, pony trekking, white water rafting and paragliding all close at hand. The Savoie department of the Rhone-Alps region of France is simply awesome, as good in summer as in winter. Best of all no crowds, relaxing but still very accessible.

“Best Paragliding holiday”

Kev Storie at Chalet Iris - June 2013  (TripAdvisor 5 stars)

What can we say but ” absolutely fantastic service, friendship and aaah the food – to fly for….

We came in the spring/Summer specifically for paragliding… yip no skiing for us – just big air, big mountains and as much flying days as we can muster the strength to fly. Boy did we rack up the air hours and get through a fair amount of post flying beers..

Jodi and Renato are an integral part of the success of the regular Blue Gravity’s French Alps tour.
This type of tour would be impossible with out their services and hub to operate from.

White Stripe as our base provided all the luxurious accommodation, developed our local trip itinerary and ensured weather wise we got to the flyable sites for all our paragliding pilots.

Their knowledge of the area and Renatos site knowledge for paragliding is excellent and managed to cater for our group of varying skill levels from those recently qualified to those highly experienced. By the way he does not fly to bad either…..many of us long time pilots had to work to keep up.

Many of the best international sites in the Alps are within easy driving distance and with Vallandry one of the best sites in France on their door step is a winner.

The flying site choices delivered flying that ensured every one arrived back at the lodge happy day after day. For non Flyers there is so much to do if you like hikes, biking etc.
So you can bring your wives and girlfriends with and still go and fly…..

South Africans are known for their eating capacity and their love for harty and wholesome cuisine. Well, we got that and much much more. Master Chef winners would be hard pressed to compare with the taste and diversity provided in our magnificent evening meals night after night by Jodi. Thank you.

The Lodge/ Chalet is situated in an area stunningly beautiful with much to do if you into all the mountain sports with kayaking and mountain biking exploding in the area.

If you fly paragliders, White Stripe should be first on your list of places to stay. You will not regret it.

Kev Storie
General Manager of the Aero Club of South Africa

“Lovely hosts, great food, nice accommodation and the drop off and pick up at the piste makes up for it being out of town”

JP7972 at Chalet Iris - February 2013  (TripAdvisor 4 stars)

Jodi and Renato were great hosts and it was lovely that they took the time to cook for our 1 year old and put up stair gates etc. The accommodation was nice, our bathroom was big and modern and the lounge was comfortable.

Jodi\’s cooking was yummy, exactly what we wanted after a day on the piste. The right balance between fine dining and a solid meal to replenish the energy reserves for another day\’s boarding.

The chalet probably lends itself more to a quiet week away as it\’s a bus trip into town so any après probably needs to be done before 6 so Renato can collect you.

Overall a great place and great value for money. Renato was mean about my new yellow boarding trousers (jealousy!) but then I did break his coffee machine! 😉 (not guilty).

“Amazing ski area, great chalet and fantastic hosts with a relaxed atmosphere”

Elisabeth K at Chalet Iris - February 2013  (TripAdvisor 5 stars)

Jodi and Renato were the best hosts. A great team:) The meels were perfect and well prepared. It was not a problem to adjust the menu during the stay. Great that kids got a special menu and adjustments for allergies were also made without any problems. We really appreciated that.

Renato and Jodi have done a perfect job refurnishing the chalet. They made it very welcoming, with really nice decoration, colors, furnitures, which makes a great atmosphere. We felt like home straight away.
We really liked that there were heated floors. The arrangement for drying ski boots and clothes was excellent.

The Paradiski skiarea was amazing with nice slopes and lots of powder. A great combination for a group of skiers:) It was really nice to get transportation to and from the chalet.

We give our best recommendations to White stripe mountain lodge.

“Best Chalet Experience yet”

ChrisB at Chalet Iris - February 2013  (TripAdvisor 5 stars)

I have been on many ski trips staying in hotels and chalets, and so far this has been the best chalet experience.
Jodi and Renato, make you feel relaxed and at home straight away.
We added on extra guests late in the day and they accommodated us with no problem.
Meals were excellent, varied, tasty and filling. A wonderfully tasty cake and other choices ready for when we returned from the slopes, along with hot drinks.
The Lifts are a short drive away, but Renato dropped us off each morning, including on their day off making sure we knew where we were going for ski school or straight to the lifts. There is also a free bus service from the lifts that stops right outside the front of the chalet, so if you do want to go out later or come home early its easily done.

in the evenings plenty of time to relax in the spacious lounge with the big TV with english satellite channels and a wii for some great entertainment.

Overall a great experience that i would definitely recommend.

“Excellent 5 star quality with amazing hosts!! Best holiday experience!!”

AnabelaS at Chalet Iris - January 2013  (TripAdvisor 5 stars)

What an amazing chalet!! First class service with personalized touch and exceptional food. They cater for everything including vegetarian food ( which is a huge bonus!!) that is absolutely delicious! I would recommend this chalet to any one looking for an amazing holiday with great skiing and snowboarding potential. Thank you to White Stripe Mountain Lodge for such an awesome experience!!!

“Excellent Lodge, Excellent Food, Excellent Hospitality & Skiing was also Excellent”

GordonL at Chalet Iris - December 2012  (TripAdvisor 5 stars)

Jodi & Renato were excellent host’s during our stay in this lovely lodge. The Ski resort is a 5 minute drive, however this is no hassle as Renato drops you off right at the main lifts and this provides easy access to the slopes. Nancroix is perfectly placed to give access to all the ski area. The lodge is very cozy & comfortable and the little touches with cushions and candles makes it feel like home!
Jodi is a fabulous cook, who clearly really cares about the quality of food she serves, Ronato is a wonderful commis chef !

“More than we ever expected – a truely wonderful experience”

NicholasS at Chalet Iris - December 2012  (TripAdvisor 5 stars)

Renato and Jodi, for newbies in hospitality, have surpassed what others have tried to do for years. Their personal attention to every detail from our on-line enquiries, to booking and to a personal greeting on our family of five’s arrival at Geneva airport set the tone for the rest of the week. They go the extra distance to assist you with any challenges you may have. Chalet Iris, with magnificent views, located in a fabulous ski resort, has been modernised and every comfort provided for from cosy bedrooms, beautiful linen, full amenities and an extremely comfortable lounge area providing us with a large plasma TV and full spectrum of satelite channels, as well as board games for family entertainment. Jodi’s skill at producing almost Michelin standard meals was a bonus that we have never received in some of the hotels that we have used on previous ski trips. Their genuine hospitality, organisation with services such as ski equipment hire directly at the chalet, shuttles to and from the ski lifts and the complimentary taxi into the village for our meal on Jodi’s night off were very much appreciated! Renato’s natural affinity with people and experience on the slopes went a long way to helping our three children enjoy their snow boarding experience. A fabulous touch was when they decided to accompany us on the ski slopes! A truely fabulous experience and one to be recommended. On our return to South Africa we have already recommended their chalet to friends and family and know of two who are making enquiries for end of year ski trips! We will definitely return as it is great value for money with the personal touches.

“Perfect Chalet Experience with Gourmet Food to Boot”

AmandaDav at Chalet Iris - December 2012  (TripAdvisor 5 stars)

I couldn’t recommend this chalet highly enough! I recently stayed at White Stripe Mountain Lodge with a group of friends, including two children. From the moment we arrived, we immediately felt at home and knew we had a great weeks holiday ahead!

Jodi and Renato have done a wonderful job renovating the chalet – the bedrooms are lovely, with comfortable beds, the floors are heated which was perfect for cosy nights in, the bathrooms are modern and the lounge area was perfect for a relaxing night in after a day on the slopes with a cosy fireplace.

We were made to feel right at home for the duration at our stay – Jodi and Renato did all they could to make our stay seamless. From transfers to and from the ski lifts, to preparing early meals for the children, the experience was certainly personalised.

I feel the food should also have a special mention. Jodi’s passion for cooking made our holiday extra special. With cooked breakfast, delicious cakes and a three course meal every evening (which was restaurant quality of a very high standard), the food was a real highlight of our trip.

Thank you Jodi and Renato for a wonderful holiday which I am sure we will all be raving about for years to come!

“A magic mountain experience with beautiful hosts!”

CarmanFS at Chalet Iris - December 2012  (TripAdvisor 5 stars)

My Partner and I, with 5 Friends, stayed at White Stripe Mountain Lodge over Christmas and had a wonderful experience! Our hosts Jodie & Renato are truly beautiful people who made our experience exceptional and one that will not be forgotten.

The service was amazing and Jodie & Renato make you feel at home within the first minutes of arriving. Jodie caters for your gastronomical needs with the care and attention of a five star restaurant – we were never hungry!!! Our group love our food and have eaten at some of the best restaurants in London and were always impressed by the wonderful meals presented to us each night.

The chalet is cosy and beautifully decorated with big comfy couches ready for you to sink into with a red wine after a long day in the great outdoors! The bathrooms are small but very modern and neat. The underfloor heating throughout is great too.

The location is not in the centre of the village but this was never a bother for us as Jodie and Renato are very accommodating and organised drop-off & pick-up from the lifts each day – even if you want a sleep-in or to come home early there is a bus stop right outside which is so easy. The atmosphere in the chalet is so lovely that you are happy to stay in and raid the board game collection instead (Articulate was our favourite) and the best restaurant in the region is next door.

This truly was one of the very best holiday experiences I have had and would highly recommend. Thank you Jodie & Renato for such a wonderful time!

@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@

 

Comments are closed.

 

More reviews

Enquiry Form











Social